DLD Rewind: Dodgers Sweep Friars in Quick Two-Game Set

This week, between off-days on Monday and Thursday, the Dodgers welcomed the Padres into Chavez Ravine to face off in a two-game series. The series showcased some great pitching from the Dodgers, and pushed LA’s lead in the season series out to a 4-1 lead.

Game One

In one of the most anticipated pitching duels of 2019, the Dodgers were able to do what they do better than any other team in the National League: hit home runs. With four extra base hits and another quality start from Clayton Kershaw, the Dodgers were able to power past the Padres.

The Dodgers (28-16) defeated the Padres (22-20), 6-3.

  • WP: Clayton Kershaw (3-0, 3.40 ERA)
  • LP: Chris Paddack (3-2, 1.99 ERA)
  • SV: Kenley Jansen (13)

DLD Impact Player(s) of the Game

Cody Bellinger

Swatting his fifteenth home run of 2019 in third inning, Bellinger posted a team-leading three runs batted in on Tuesday night against the Padres, making the difference and helping the Dodgers come out on top.

Game Two

The Dodgers completed the two-game sweep of the Padres on Wednesday behind an outstanding performance by Kenta Maeda, both on the mound and at the plate.

The Dodgers (29-16) defeated the Padres (22-21), 2-0.

  • WP: Kenta Maeda (5-2, 3.51 ERA)
  • LP: Matt Strahm (1-3, 3.07 ERA)
  • SV: Kenley Jansen (14)

DLD Impact Player(s) of the Game

Kenta Maeda

Ringing up twelve in his six scoreless frames while knocking in both of the Dodgers’ runs, Kenta Maeda had one helluva game on Wednesday.

Series Forecast

The Dodgers will travel east to kickoff a weekend series against the Reds in Cincinnati. The series comes on the tail of a strong home stand from the Dodgers, and will wrap up the six-game season series between these two teams, which the Dodgers currently lead, 3-0.

  • Friday, May 17th: Dodgers (Hill) @ Reds (DeSclafani)
    • First Pitch: 4:10pm PT (7:10pm ET)
  • Saturday, May 18th: Dodgers (Buehler) @ Reds (Mahle)
    • First Pitch: 1:10pm PT (4:10pm ET)
  • Sunday, May 19th: Dodgers (Ryu) @ Reds (Roark)
    • First Pitch: 10:10am PT (1:10pm ET)

Arrick Joel has covered the Dodgers since 2017. Follow him on Twitter at @ArrickJoel, and follow @DodgersLowDown for more.